Foote awarded Kelly Prize

Professor Michael Foote has been awarded the 2016 recipient Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service in the Physical Sciences Division. 

The prize was established in the Division three years ago by Arthur L. Kelly, who received his MBA from the University in 1964 and established the same faculty prize at Chicago Booth in 1999.  In addition to his contributions to finance, business, international relations, and geography, Mr. Kelly served as a Trustee of the University from 1988-2008 and has served for nearly two decades on the Visiting Committee to the Division, including ten years as Chairman.  It is fitting that we honor his contributions to the Division and the University through this award.  The Kelly Prize celebrates faculty who, outside of their classroom teaching and research, have made exceptional efforts in promoting and supporting the Division.  Previous winners include Ka Yee Lee and John Frederick (2013), Anne Rogers and Michael Hopkins (2014), and Robert Fefferman and Robert Wald (2015).

Michael Foote, Professor in the Department of Geophysical Sciences, served as Chair of the Department for a total of nine years beginning in July of 2006.  During that time, the Department hired several new, promising junior faculty.  Before that, Mike served as Master of the Physical Sciences Collegiate Division and Associate Dean of the Division.  Throughout his years on the faculty, Mike has also given of himself by serving on several committees, including most recently chairing the Faculty Committee for periodic review of the PSCD Mastership and serving on the College Disciplinary Committee.  Mike has a distinguished record as a paleontologist.  He is a Fellow of the Paleontological Society and was the recipient of the Society’s Schuchert Award several years ago. 

The Kelly Prize will be awarded at the PSD Convocation ceremony on June 11.  Please join us in congratulating Dr. Foote on this much-deserved honor.